The building that presently houses the Priest Lake Public Library was originally constructed as a one-room schoolhouse known as Lamb Creek School. The school served the educational needs of Priest Lake children for a quarter of a century and remains as a testament to the lake’s pioneering heritage.
Lamb Creek School was built in 1934 and is one of the last log school houses still standing. It was funded by the WPA and the $60 budget was used to purchase the logs for the building. The entire construction project, to include cutting, transporting and peeling the logs was accomplished by local residents. The school opened its doors on September 9, 1935 and operated continuously until June 1961.
In a 1974 dedication ceremony, Lamb Creek School was reopened as Priest Lake Library, a volunteer library “to assist in the education of our children and provide enjoyment for the community and its visitors”. That status continued until 1999 when local residents voted to place the library within the Bonner county public library system. At that time, the library was redesignated as the Priest Lake Public Library. The building was placed on the National Historic Register in 1999.
You are invited to take the opportunity to visit the library, chat with the friendly staff and marvel at early log cabin construction techniques which reinforce the old adage that “they don’t build them like that anymore”.
The Priest Lake Library is located at 28769 State Highway 57 (Past Mile Post 28) just north of the turn-off to Luby Bay.